Week 2: Sometimes We Fail…We Must Keep Going

Miles: 4.17
Time: 40’36”
Average Pace: 9’45”/mile
Calories: 564

Week 2 of marathon training was a little rough for me. Still was having a hard time transitioning to the heat. Also I must sadly say that I missed two of my runs. I got busy doing other things and by the time it came around to run I just was not in the mood anymore so I just didn’t do it.

Even though I didn’t accomplish the goal for the week I realize that is just a slip up and that I can continue to work hard and train. You can’t beat yourself up over the mistakes you’ve made. All you can do is look up and move forward.

My poppy, mom and me at the 3rd annual Phi Kappa Psi - IN Theta Scholar's Golf Scramble

To continue with my dedication miles, Mile 2 is dedicated to my grandpa, Michael Line. He’s my grandpa on my mom’s side and was diagnosed with prostate cancer about a year ago. I remember when my mom told me she said “They caught it early so there shouldn’t be much to worry about.”

While I didn’t necessarily worry all too much, it’s still scary knowing that someone you love and care about has cancer. I also remember when he started going through some of the treatments and how weak he would look or how he’d feel bad after a treatment. Even now I think his immune system took a big hit because when something goes around he seems to always get sick.

It’s my hope that as we raise money for cancer research and we learn more about it, that we’ll have more treatments that don’t cause so much discomfort and pain.

So I run mile 2 for that cause and for my grandpa, Michael Line.

Please help me raise money as I run the 2011 Philadelphia Marathon! You can visit my personal page here and make a donation on the site. Check back here and you can also see what each of my miles is dedicated to and feel free to follow along on Twitter as I use the #roadto26 hashtag.

Thanks for your continued support!

One response to “Week 2: Sometimes We Fail…We Must Keep Going

Leave a comment